Gym Essentials

Some people work out because it’s kinda a minimalist activity. The right clothes and shoes– and you are set.

And that must work for some people. And my husband would love for me to be that kinda person. However I love the gadgets and gear that go with working out. It makes me excited to get out there and move. And let’s be honest, it also guilts me into it. I mean, have you seen the price of running shoes? Ouch.

Crazy true. And I was so proud of myself for getting rid of all those old college t-shirts.

So here is a list of ┬áthe gadgets and gear that I use to workout…

1. iPod Nano

I love having music to workout to. Our gym plans a contemp Christian station over it’s speakers, however, it’s just not what really makes me move. I did use an iPod Touch for a while but I find myself really distracted with apps. So the when the iPod Touch died (it was an old one of my brother’s) I opted for something without apps.

Bonus: It’s pink.

2. These Sony earbuds

I love these. They are comfortable and don’t fall out. I’ve also managed to not lose them for well over a year.

3. Road ID

I bought this when I began running outside, for several reasons. For one, I hate running with my phone. And for two, I have a real fear of passing out while running. I’m not a 100% on why I have this fear– I’ve never came close. But the Road ID makes me feel better should something actually happen to me.

I also love that I get to express my love of literature on my ID. I have part of this quote engraved on it:

Source: etsy.com via Eve on Pinterest

4. Polar FT40 Heart Monitor

This is my newest piece. I bought it mostly for half marathon training but I’ve been using it so I get use to wearing it and looking at my data.

So there are the four items I always have with me to workout. What do you use? Or are you a minimalist? :)

2 Responses to “Gym Essentials”


  1. 1 RunToTheFinish November 9, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    haha so funny…I started running because all I needed was shoes to get out the door…years later I have so many gizmos and gadgets it’s silly…bu ti love it!

  2. 2 maryelizjohnson November 9, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    I’m a minimalist, but I definitely spend on my shoes and I ALWAYS wear my roadID. So important!


I love comments-- be sure to leave me your url so I can return the love :)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Actively working on a healthier life. Pursuing my fitness dreams and choking down a side of veggies at each meal. Married to Jordan. Teacher of wee folks. Lover of kickboxing, races, reading, photography and a mutt named Beesly. Questions? Email me at racingdreamsandveggieschemes@gmail.com

View Full Profile →

First Half Marathon

OKC Memorial Half MarathonApril 27th, 2013

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

