Get Your Kicks at Route 66!

Every week Active.com sends me emails about events in my area. A couple of weeks ago I got an email about volunteering for the Route 66 Marathon. As I had never been to an expo or helped with a large race, I decided to sign up to help with shirt pick up for the marathon! I know that a ton of effort goes into putting on races and I wanted to help with one as a way to give back for all the people who volunteer for races I run.

It was a bit out of my introverted league, but I made it through :) I actually ended up help with registration, since the shirt pick up was slow. I ran bibs for a while, and then I helped check people in for the half-marathon. It made me so excited for running. Lots of happy attitudes and people full of energy. Good luck tomorrow runners! Hope you all have great races!

I arrived at the expo a little early so I could walk around and explore. Gear galore, for sure. I was good and didn’t buy any new running clothes. I got information on some races for next year, and stopped by the OKC Memorial Marathon booth and talked with Mark Bravo, a running coach whose affiliated with the races. He’s also the author of Momentum. I bought a copy, and he signed it for me. I’ll be review it here soon.

I’m now home, chilling with my dog. Poor thing was spayed on Thursday and we learned that someone shot her before my husband found her. It also looks like she might have to have some surgery on her jaw. :(

Watching her on two pain meds is kinda funny though :)

1 Response to “Get Your Kicks at Route 66!”


  1. 1 Katie @ from icecream to marathon November 19, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    I would love to volunteer at a race sometime! That would be so much fun! Your poor dog. :( My dog was a rescue and had been abused in his past too. So sad!


I love comments-- be sure to leave me your url so I can return the love :)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Actively working on a healthier life. Pursuing my fitness dreams and choking down a side of veggies at each meal. Married to Jordan. Teacher of wee folks. Lover of kickboxing, races, reading, photography and a mutt named Beesly. Questions? Email me at racingdreamsandveggieschemes@gmail.com

View Full Profile →

First Half Marathon

OKC Memorial Half MarathonApril 27th, 2013

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

