Creating a Home Gym

When my husband and I moved into our home this summer we had an extra room that I wanted to make into home gym. We had a weight bench already, and a old computer desk that could really be used to store weights and kettlebells. But once we moved in…well, stuff just began to pile in the room. :/

But then this came into my life:

Quickly followed by these pretties:

I ended up cleaning out the room and Jordan hung the bag up. Someone gave us a sleeper couch, and it’s made it’s home in the workout room as well. I love the comfortable and laid back feel of the room, but it’s still lacking a good amount of the content 🙂 I have a 20 lb kettle bell, a set of 10 lb weights, yoga mat, a stability ball and foam roller.

So my question for you is what would you put in a home gym? I want to start adding items so as cooler weather set in, it’ll be easier to get in a workout at home! Something to help get some cardio in, and definitely some more strength training items.

I know I can get in exercise without any of these things, but they make working out more fun, you know?

2 Responses to “Creating a Home Gym”


  1. 1 Corrie Anne October 16, 2012 at 5:01 am

    That so awesome. I’ll really pushing for a pullup bar right now. And I want some heavier kettlebells too!

  2. 2 fromicecreamtomarathon October 16, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    I would love to have a punching bag and gloves! In my home gym, aka basement, I have my treadmill, spin bike and weight bench and weights. I want to get some kettlebells too, I’m sure those are a great workout!


I love comments-- be sure to leave me your url so I can return the love :)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Actively working on a healthier life. Pursuing my fitness dreams and choking down a side of veggies at each meal. Married to Jordan. Teacher of wee folks. Lover of kickboxing, races, reading, photography and a mutt named Beesly. Questions? Email me at racingdreamsandveggieschemes@gmail.com

View Full Profile →

First Half Marathon

OKC Memorial Half MarathonApril 27th, 2013

