Run the Mission 5K

Yesterday, Jordan and I headed out to Tulsa to run a 5k benefitting John 3:16 Mission, which helps the homeless and in-need throughout the area. We rolled out of bed around 7, hit the road and made it to the race with plenty of time to spare.

Especially since the race started 15 minutes late. Not a big deal, but I’m use to these things running on atomic time. But I was kept busy playing with my new gear:

A Polar FT40! I’ve been debating about buying one of these or a Garmin for a while. The Polar won out because I was really more interested in have a heart monitor over a GPS watch. Although if someone would combine the FT40 and the Garmin 10 at a reasonable price, I won’t complain 🙂

The race finally started and I felt pretty good… until I realized how hilly the route was! Not going to lie, I walked most of them. Some of them were huge! I was starting to get a bit tired when I ran into Jordan! Apparently  his new Brooks PureFlow were killing him and he stopped to wait for me. I felt bad because I knew he wanted to really to try and beat his last race time, but he was smart and listened to his body. Thank goodness of Brooks’ guarantee plan– we’re taking these shoes back!

At two miles, we were at 23 minutes and I knew I was definitely  going to best my last time and hopefully my best clocked time! We turned the last corner with half a block to go and I sprinted as hard as I could. I finished with 37,34 (Offical Guntime). However I was towards the back and started my Polar as soon as I crossed over the start and finish so I’m going with that time of 37.18!

My first instinct is to say I know that is slow– but I’m so proud of myself! I’ve pushed myself in the right direction for almost eight months now and that time on the clock shows me that it’s paying off! One of my favorite fitness quotes is this:

Source: rippedandfit.tumblr.com via Jayme on Pinterest

I can definitely see myself getting caught up in the comptetivness of racing. However, for me, it’s not about racing. It’s about proving something to myself. So I’m going to take my 12 minute miles and celebrate my new PR. And starting working toward my next goal 🙂

0 Responses to “Run the Mission 5K”



  1. Leave a Comment

I love comments-- be sure to leave me your url so I can return the love :)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Jayme (Racing Dreams and Veggie Schemes)

Actively working on a healthier life. Pursuing my fitness dreams and choking down a side of veggies at each meal. Married to Jordan. Teacher of wee folks. Lover of kickboxing, races, reading, photography and a mutt named Beesly. Questions? Email me at racingdreamsandveggieschemes@gmail.com

View Full Profile →

First Half Marathon

OKC Memorial Half MarathonApril 27th, 2013

